Book Review: Fangirl By Rainbow Rowell

17286849Title: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Series #: Book 1

Publisher: St. Marin’s Griffin;  September 10, 2013

# of Pages: 438

Source: Bought

Summary: (Goodreads)

A coming-of-age tale of fanfiction, family, and first love.

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…. But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fanfiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend; a fiction-writing professor who thinks fanfiction is the end of the civilized world; a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words…and she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

d1a88-addtogoodreadsblackpurpledots

My Thoughts

I absolutely adore this book! Everything about this book is absolutely fabulous! This was the first Rainbow Rowell book that I’ve read (yes, I have not read Eleanor and Park… please don’t hate me! ) so I honestly did not know what to expect in terms of plot content and writing style. Basically, I did not know what to expect period and the only thing I have going for me were all of the ah- mazing things people were saying about this book. I can honestly say that I was pretty impressed, relieved and satisfied with this book. I was impressed by how Fangirl turned out, plot line and character development wise, relieved that it did not suck, and satisfied with the general content.

The plot line was awesome as it focused on Cath and everything that she goes through as she transitions into a new stage in life. It was happy, funny, sad, and  infuriating at some times. This book had everything and I loved that! Cath was such an amazing character. She was very relate-able too because I used to write Harry Potter fan fiction! Also, you can clearly see the changes within Cath as the book progresses. Although she was a little to introverted, I still enjoyed reading about this character. In addition, I thought that Levi and Reagan were written really well. They were the spice to the plot line. Their lines were so funny. Reagan said a couple of stuff that were kind of mean but it was funny at the same time. 

Overall, Fangirl is such a fun book to read. It’s awesomely well- written and I think that a lot of people can relate to Cath especially those fangirls out there. I love Rainbow Rowell’s writing! It’s original and totally entertaining. I am looking forward to reading her other two novels, Eleanor and Park as well as Attachments! 

My Rating:

BIC Rating System5

Would I Recommend this Book?: YES! Go get it NOW! 

abed9-iconamazon

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Fangirl By Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

