Book Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

16108212Title: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Series #: Book 2 of the Mara Dyer series

Date Published: October 23, 2012

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

# of Pages: 527

Summary: ( Goodreads )

Mara Dyer knows she isn’t crazy. She knows that she can kill with her mind, and that Noah can heal with his. Mara also knows that somehow, Jude is not a hallucination. He is alive. Unfortunately, convincing her family and doctors that she’s not unstable and doesn’t need to be hospitalized isn’t easy. The only person who actually believes her is Noah. But being with Noah is dangerous and Mara is in constant fear that she might hurt him. She needs to learn how to control her power, and fast! Together, Mara and Noah must try and figure out exactly how Jude survived when the asylum collapsed, and how he knows so much about her strange ability…before anyone else ends up dead!

8314c-addtogoodreadsblackpurpledotsMy Thoughts

The Evolution of Mara Dyer is the second installment of the Mara Dyer series. This book picks up immediately after the ending of the first book and may I say I found this second installment more intriguing than the first. Michelle Hodkin did such an amazing job with this book. Although there were some parts that felt a bit, just a tad bit slow, it almost always eventually picked up.

In this installment, Mara Dyer is faced, yet again, with the horrendous consequences of her powers as well as her hallucinations of her supposedly deceased ex. Could anything possibly get any worse for her? If you answer yes, you definitely got that right! Because her parents become more involved in this installment and you gotta read to find out how. Just a warning, it will definitely mess with your feels! In addition to that, Noah Shaw seems to be hiding more secrets that he lets on. And as I said, you must read this book to find out! And like the first the surprises and revelations in this book will keep you at the edge of your seat!!!

I honestly am not such a big fan of Mara Dyer. I thought she was an okay character from the beginning of the first book and I was hoping that I might come around to liking her more in this second book, but I still feel the same way about her. I guess I was expecting her to be stronger than how she actually is and not so much depend on Noah or Daniel. My favorite characters in this book would definitely have to be Noah and Daniel. Noah was pretty much Mara’s rock throughout both books and I just absolutely adore how he was written. I love his lines and his personality. He has a touch of mystery in him and he’s always making me come back for more. As Mara’s older brother, Daniel tries his best to understand what she goes through and despite all the craziness, he always sticks by his sister’s side or he’d always get her out of tight situations and I absolutely loved that about him. Oh and Jamie! I love him! I absolutely love him! He’s such a great character and the things he says made me LOL on multiple occasions! Love that guy!

Overall, I definitely enjoyed reading this book and always kept me wanting more. I can’t wait for the final installment to the trilogy 😀

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I recommend this Book?: Yes.

abed9-iconamazon

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (4) | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

