Book Review: Shatter Me

13455782Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Series #: Book 1 of the Shatter Me Trilogy

Date Published: November 15, 2011

Publisher: Harper

# of Pages: 338

Summary: (Goodreads)

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

e6e72-addtogoodreadsblackpurpledotsMy Thoughts
I have seen this book at my local bookstore for awhile now and have recently decided to pick it up. Why Elyssa? Why only now?! I know, I know! I’m probably the last book blogger on the planet that has not read this book. I’m sorry! But hey, I finally got around to it right? Right? OK! So prior to reading this book, I have heard nothing but awesome things about it. And honestly, I was not disappointed! I absolutely loved this book. I think that it’s a great way to start a trilogy, despite a few areas where I feel are somewhat lacking. Nevertheless, it is an awesome book!

To specifically start off, I’d like to acknowledge the writing style. The writing style in Shatter Me is really, really unique as it uses a lot and I mean, A LOT of metaphors! And it has a lot of sentences that were striked- through, like this that I thought were pretty cool.  I personally enjoyed most of the metaphors used to describe several of the main characters, particularly Adam. However, some were a bit much.  If you read other reviews on this book, I’m pretty sure somewhere along the line they will mention the writing style. They will! It was just so unique to this book and it I thought that it contributed to the book’s appeal.

As I said, going into this book I kinda already knew what to expect in terms of the quality of the story and I was not disappointed but I didn’t feel fully satisfied either. I felt like there were some things missing or incomplete. The world building though was off to a pretty good start. I was able to build a vivid picture of how their world looked like from the environment to the absence of wild life and greenery; yes, I’d say that it was off to a pretty good start.

Just like the plot, the characters did not disappoint me either. However! I am expecting a lot more in the next installment in terms of character development as well as relationship development. Personally, I don’t really see Juliette as a very independent or even a strong character. She was depending a bit much on Adam and I didn’t really like that. As for Adam being her love interest and their insta-love, I was a bit skeptic about it at first but after reading their back story, I thought that it could be possible that Adam’s feelings toward Juliette are legit. My gut is telling me otherwise though. I have a feeling that there’s more to Adam’s feelings toward Juliette than he let’s on. And Warner! OMG, Warner… now he’s a complex character! I can start to see all the hype about this Warner character. He’s very…complicated. He’s a bad guy but a bad guy with a heart. Read it! And you will find out! If there’s one person that I am looking forward to on reading, it would be this guy! He’s- …

tumblr_ms3udicvYs1sftcl1o1_400

Overall, Tahereh Mafi did such an amazing job on this book. She introduces her audience to this new dystopian world that is unlike any other and introduces us to exciting and potentially swoon worthy characters 😀 

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I Recommend this Book?: Yes! Go get it NOW! 

abed9-iconamazon

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Shatter Me

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (4) | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites: Dystopian/Sci-Fi/ Fantasy Book Recommendations (7) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

