Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer By Michelle Hodkin

13547135Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

Series #: Book #1 in The Mara Dyer series

Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers

Date Published: September 27, 2011

Source: Bought

#Pages: 452

Summary: (Goodreads)

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.
It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.
There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.
She’s wrong.

d1a88-addtogoodreadsblack

purpledots

My Thoughts

I can’t believe that I finally got around to reading this book! (Thank you so much to my hubby for getting me this book!) After hearing about how good this book is from fellow bloggers and vloggers, I knew that this book must be placed in my TBR pile for this month and I’m glad I pushed through with it. I can now see why a lot of people raved about this book.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer is about Mara Dyer (of course!) who had lost her memory of how she survived this tragic accident that killed her friends, leaving her as the unharmed sole survivor. So throughout the story, she tries to figure out what happened that night and how is it that she was the only one who survived. Then weird unexplain-able (creepy!) stuff started happening. I thought the creepy scenes of the book made the plot pretty interesting and it always kept me thinking. But it did get kind of confusing at some point, but I guess that was the author’s intent as the voice of the story was unreliable as she does not know what’s happening around her. 

With all the weirdness aside, Mara Dyer  meets Noah Shaw. *Sigh* Noah Shaw. Gorgeous Noah Shaw! He is such a well- written character. I really enjoyed reading the dialogue between Noah and Mara. Some of them really made me LOL! Although the back story of how Noah and Mara met is somewhat stereotypical for a paranormal story, it still worked.  In addition, Mara Dyer is so uniquely written and you can see a progressive character development from the beginning of the story to the end. However with all things said, Noah Shaw is still my favorite character.

Overall, this story is the first I’ve ever read like it and I really enjoyed it. The plot was really awesome and so were the characters. Although there were a few confusing parts to the story, the mystery and creepiness totally made up for it!

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I Recommend this Book?: Yes! 

abed9-iconamazon

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer By Michelle Hodkin

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (4) | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

