Book Review: Undying By Valerie Grosjean

18596439Title: Undying [Kindle]

Author: Valerie Grosjean

Series #: Book 1 of the Undying Series

Date Published: September 29, 2013

Publisher:

# of Pages: 197

Summary:

When eighteen-year-old college freshman Christian discovers his dormitory is crawling with the living dead, he knows he has a problem. But once he learns the whole country is overrun by the flesh-eating horde, he must race to protect what matters to him most.

Sixteen-year-old Iris, the girl he loves, is stranded eighty miles away, alone and completely unaware of the gruesome threat surrounding her.

Christian’s plan is to evade the zombies, drive the distance to rescue Iris, and get them both to his family farm—where there are guns, fuel, and everything else they’ll need to survive. His mission seems simple: Get the girl, get to the farm, and stay alive.

Things get complicated when Christian is forced to make an unthinkable choice between Iris and his family. Someone he loves must die, and he must decide.

My Thoughts

This is the FIRST zombie book I have ever read and I am pretty impressed. This books actually triggered my little bookish zombie obsession hehe! Overall, I think Ms. Valerie Grosjean did an excellent job and created a wonderful debt novel. I enjoyed the overall plot. the action, the twists and revelations within the plot. She wrote the book in such a thrilling way that brings the audience alongside Christian as he fights his way to save Iris, the love of his life, and reunite with his family.

I really enjoyed Christian as a character. I like how his humanity guides him through the complicated decisions that he makes throughout the story. I think that in reality, say this were to happen, that other than the strong will to survive, people would tune in to their humanities to decided whether or not they should rescue a person in need etc. which was exactly what Christian goes through. As awesome as Christian and Iris are, I expected to see more emotion between them than what was in the book. From the point that Christian and Iris had reunited (I’m pretty sure that was already a ‘dead’ giveaway…get it ‘dead’- cuz this is a zombie book :)) up til the end of the book, I expected lots and lots of drama especially when we take Christian’s feelings towards Iris into consideration and the amount of heartbreak and trauma that they have already suffered. Don’t get me wrong though it is still the first book of the series, and the awesome cliff hanger in the end totally made up for the drama. In addition to the whole drama and emotion topic, I also expected to see an emphasis on Christian’s reaction to the loss of several of his family members. I had expected to see this because of the paramount role that his family had on him at the beginning of the book. I know Christian had thought of Iris most of the time, but when he wasn’t thinking of her, he was thinking about them (his family).

As I have said, it was overall a good book. I enjoyed reading. If I wasn’t so busy with being a mom and preparing for my nursing exam, I probably would’ve devoured this book in a day or two. I can’t wait for the next installment!!! (BTW, the cliff hanger in this book reminded me so much of how The Walking Dead would end an awesome episode. A billion thumbs up for that one Ms. Grosjean!!! )

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I Recommend this Book?: Yes.

Goodreads |Amazon

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Undying By Valerie Grosjean

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (3) | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (5) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

