Top Ten Tuesday (1)

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme originally hosted by The Broke and Bookish that spotlights out Top Ten books and other bookish things. This week will feature:

Top Ten Books That I am Dying to Read

 

tumblr_m7eq09AQ0R1rziwwco1_500

 

# 10 The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Summary: (Goodreads)

Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. The only problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave.

One morning, after a perfectly ordinary party, Tana wakes up surrounded by corpses. The only other survivors of this massacre are her exasperatingly endearing ex-boyfriend, infected and on the edge, and a mysterious boy burdened with a terrible secret. Shaken and determined, Tana enters a race against the clock to save the three of them the only way she knows how: by going straight to the wicked, opulent heart of Coldtown itself.

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is a wholly original story of rage and revenge, of guilt and horror, and of love and loathing from bestselling and acclaimed author Holly Black.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

I have been waiting to read this book for awhile now. I absolutely love the concept of the story. It seems like something that I would definitely enjoy reading.

#9 The Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Summary: (Goodreads)

London 1873 shape-shifter Tessa Gray 16 is engaged to Jem Carstairs 17, dying of addiction to demon drug, all bought up by evil Mortmain. The “clockwork prince” controls an army of automatons to abduct Tess, kill the Shadowhunters, and blackmail Charlotte Branwell, head of London Institute. Will and Tessa hide their love, for love of Jem.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

I have been waiting for this book to come out and now that it finally is, I can’t wait to grab myself a copy! I am still working on finishing up the Mortal Instruments series however, but I do own the first book to the Infernal Devices series so I just need to purchase this book and the second one and I’ll just marathon it 😀

#8 Alex Rider: Russian Roulette by Anthony Horowitz

Summary: (Goodreads)

Alex Rider is actually the end of the story.

Yassen Gregorovich was the beginning.

Alex Rider’s life changed forever with one bullet and the pull of a trigger.
Alex Rider’s life changed forever with the silent pull of a trigger.

When Ian Rider died at the hands of the assassin Yassen Gregorovich, Alex, ready or not, was thrust into the world of international espionage—the world’s only teenage spy. Alex vowed revenge against Yassen and the two have battled ever since. Yet, years ago, it was none other than Alex’s own father who trained and mentored Yassen, turning him into the killer he would eventually become.

What makes us choose evil? Why did one boy choose to kill while another chose to risk his life to save others? In some ways, Alex Rider and Yassen Gregorovich are mirror images of each other. Yet the paths they traveled turned them into mortal enemies.

This is Yassen’s story. A journey down a darkened path.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

Aside from Harry Potter, the Alex Rider series is also one of my all- time favorite series. It’s like my Harry Potter of the espionage genre :D. Anyways, I have been wanting to read this book since it first came out but I have never got around to picking up a copy. I’ll probably wait for this to come out in paperback (at my local bookstore) since all of Alex Rider books are in paperback. I would recommend this series to those who enjoy reading YA espionage. 

#7 More Than This by Patrick Ness

Summary: (Goodreads)

A boy named Seth drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments, losing his life as the pounding sea claims him. But then he wakes. He is naked, thirsty, starving. But alive. How is that possible? He remembers dying, his bones breaking, his skull dashed upon the rocks. So how is he here? And where is this place? It looks like the suburban English town where he lived as a child, before an unthinkable tragedy happened and his family moved to America. But the neighborhood around his old house is overgrown, covered in dust, and completely abandoned. What’s going on? And why is it that whenever he closes his eyes, he falls prey to vivid, agonizing memories that seem more real than the world around him? Seth begins a search for answers, hoping that he might not be alone, that this might not be the hell he fears it to be, that there might be more than just this. . . .

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

I am starting to like stories like this. Like , really like them. I first heard this book on Booktube but I forgot from who 😦 Anyway, the summary seems pretty exciting and this would be the first book written by Patrick Ness that I am planning on reading. So I am really excited for this!

#6 Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Summary: (Goodreads)

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan . . .

But for Cath, being a fan is her life — and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

A lot of people are raving about this book!!! With the sound of the summary, Fangirl sound like a fantastic contemporary on fangirls. Personally, it sounds like something that I could definitely relate to. My local bookstore does not have this on their shelves… yet (can you believe that?!) so I’ll just place an order online. It’ll probably come in before my local bookstore could even have it.

#5 The Magicians by Lev Grossman

 Summary: (Goodreads)

Quentin Coldwater is brillant but miserable. He’s a senior in high school, and a certifiable genius, but he’s still secretly obsessed with a series of fantasy novels he read as a kid, about the adventures of five children in a magical land called Fillory. Compared to that, anything in his real life just seems gray and colorless.

Everything changes when Quentin finds himself unexpectedly admitted to a very secret, very exclusive college of magic in upstate New York, where he receives a thorough and rigorous education in the practice of modern sorcery. He also discovers all the other things people learn in college: friendship, love, sex, booze, and boredom. But something is still missing. Magic doesn’t bring Quentin the happiness and adventure he though it would.

Then, after graduation, he and his friends make a stunning discovery: Fillory is real.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

This is another book that I discovered through Booktube. Regan from Peruse Project mentioned this book in one of her book haul (I believe) and it seems so interesting. I automatically added this book to my list when she mentioned that people who have read this book said that it was like the adult version of Harry Potter. So yes, thank you Regan! I will be reading this book very, very soon. Just after I place an order for it online and wait for a bajillion weeks to fly by for it to come in -.-‘

#4 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Summary: (Goodreads)

Mara Dyer doesn’t think life can get any stranger than waking up in a hospital with no memory of how she got there.

It can.

She believes there must be more to the accident she can’t remember that killed her friends and left her mysteriously unharmed.

There is.

She doesn’t believe that after everything she’s been through, she can fall in love.

She’s wrong.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

This is another book that people are raving about on their blogs and vlogs! They have said nothing but great things about this book so I really have high expectations for this. I also heard that it’s kind of like a psychological- mystery with a handful of creepiness and that’s what totally drew me in. After hearing all the hype about this book, the hubby got me a copy of the first book and I bought myself the second. So I plan to marathon this!!! Hopefully, by the time I get done with the second book, I’ll have a copy of the third book. Yes, I do have high hopes for this trilogy!

#3 The Archived by Victoria Schwab

Summary: (Goodreads)

Imagine a place where the dead rest on shelves like books.

Each body has a story to tell, a life seen in pictures that only Librarians can read. The dead are called Histories, and the vast realm in which they rest is the Archive.

Da first brought Mackenzie Bishop here four years ago, when she was twelve years old, frightened but determined to prove herself. Now Da is dead, and Mac has grown into what he once was, a ruthless Keeper, tasked with stopping often—violent Histories from waking up and getting out. Because of her job, she lies to the people she loves, and she knows fear for what it is: a useful tool for staying alive.

Being a Keeper isn’t just dangerous—it’s a constant reminder of those Mac has lost. Da’s death was hard enough, but now her little brother is gone too. Mac starts to wonder about the boundary between living and dying, sleeping and waking. In the Archive, the dead must never be disturbed. And yet, someone is deliberately altering Histories, erasing essential chapters. Unless Mac can piece together what remains, the Archive itself might crumble and fall.

In this haunting, richly imagined novel, Victoria Schwab reveals the thin lines between past and present, love and pain, trust and deceit, unbearable loss and hard-won redemption.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

Read the summary. Read it. Did you read it? Now do you know why I must read this book?! How awesomely- awesome does this book sound??? Tell me that it’s awesome! Archiving the dead now that’s like- woah!!! The sequel The Unbound, is out as well and I’m contemplating on buying both books and marathon them as well 😀 Anyways, just a couple of hours ago, Jesse from JessetheReader started a twitter hashtag campaign as a request for a third installment to the series. So if you guys have a twitter account, head on over there to show your support to The Archived and to Ms. Victoria Schwab by hashtagging #TheArchivedNeedsaThirdBook and/or purchase the book 😀

#2 Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Summary: (Goodreads)

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

This dystopian is a fairytale retelling of Cinder-ella! And I do love my fair share of fairytale retellings 😀 I have heard nothing but awesome things about this book and I have been really keen on getting my hands on a copy. I just don’t know why I have not gotten to that… yet. Oh yeah, now I know why! See the cover? Yeah, my local bookstore only has it in paperback copy and I think that the cover too epic to just have it in paperback, sooo I’m willing to wait a bajilllion weeks for my hardcover copy of this book as well. Oh yes! the second and third installment, Scarlet and Cress is out so surprise, surprise, I will marathon this trilogy as well 😀

And the #1 spot goes to…

#1 Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Summary: (Goodreads)

An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt.
But her heart never wavers.

After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice.

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

8314c-addtogoodreadsblack

Yes! This is the second installment to the Throne of Glass novel by Sarah J. Maas, which I totally loved! Btw, my review for Throne of Glass will be up soon 😀 I have heard nothing but totally awesome things about this book, and some say that Crown of Midnight is BETTER than Throne of Glass which is highly affecting my feels right now. Yes!!! I really, really love the Throne of Glass and I personally recommend this book to all YA fantasy readers, if not, to all YA readers! I’m really looking forward to what will happen to Celeana as well as the other characters like Dorian (<3) and Chaol (<3), the King, Lady Kaltain etc. And the summary of this book sounds really awesome. I was so ecstatic to find out that there will be four, yes, FOUR more books that will be released after Crown of Midnight. On top of that, the Throne of Glass series has novella companions!!! I’m so stoked to read those as well 😀 So if you guys are looking for an awesome fantasy read, check this series out!

These are my top ten books that I am dying to read!!! I really can’t wait to get my hands on those that I do not own yet and I can’t to marathon those that I do already have :D. If you guys have read any of the books on my top ten list please let me know what you think down below but please, no spoilers 😀 I beg of you!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday (1)

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (2) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

