Book Review: Private By Kate Brian

“I tried Grammarly’s check plagiarism online free of charge because nothing beats the original.”

381489

Title: Private

Author: Kate Brian

Series #: Book 1 of the Private Series

Date Published: July 1, 2006

Publisher: Simon and Schuster for Young Readers

# of Pages: 227

Summary:

Fifteen-year-old Reed Brennan wins a scholarship to Easton Academy—the golden ticket away from her pill-popping mother and run-of-the-mill suburban life. But when she arrives on the beautiful, tradition-steeped campus of Easton, everyone is just a bit more sophisticated, a bit more gorgeous, and a lot wealthier than she ever thought possible. Reed realizes that even though she has been accepted to Easton, Easton has not accepted her. She feels like she’s on the outside, looking in.

Until she meets the Billings Girls.

They are the most beautiful, intelligent, and intensely confident girls on campus. And they know it. They hold all the power in a world where power is fleeting but means everything. Reed vows to do whatever it takes to be accepted into their inner circle.

Reed uses every part of herself—the good, the bad, the beautiful—to get closer to the Billings Girls. She quickly discovers that inside their secret parties and mountains of attitude, hanging in their designer clothing-packed closets the Billings Girls have skeletons. And they’ll do anything to keep their secrets private.

My Thoughts

This is my first re- read book of the year!!! (Hopefully, it won’t be my last hahaha!) I first read this book when I was fifteen or sixteen and I really didn’t remember much of it aside from how interesting I found it. After reading it again, I don’t think my outlook on the book has changed at all. I didn’t find Reed Brennan as annoying as other people call her to be (based on Goodreads). Reed Brennan had just transferred into a new school and she’s trying to fit in, hoping to be accepted into the Billings clique (a group that consists of the most popular girls in school). Reed Brennan may not be my favorite YA character of all time (because she totally disregarded the people who had easily accepted her), but she is definitely a character that does show potential for improvement. And considering the number of books in the series, I’m definitely expecting more from Reed Brennan.

As of now, I don’t have any favorite characters in particular but the person who comes close is Taylor :D. Out of all the Billings girls, she seems to be the “consistently nice one”. And for some reason, I imagine Thomas Pearson to look like this guy…

impala-jared-padalecki-road-sam-winchester-smile-Favim.com-246651

Yes, the Thomas Pearson in my head looks like Sam Winchester  Jared Padalecki :). I thought he was a pretty interesting character and he was definitely one of the characters I liked. He definitely gave the story a pretty interesting cliff hanger, which I’m really looking forward to in the second book. Speaking of cliff hangers, I CAN’T WAIT TO READ MORE!!!  Yup, it was that interesting! I just need to know! I need to know. I just hope that the plot becomes more developed as the story progresses. The plot in this book was ok and not a bad start to the series really. I just hope the following books are more interesting.

My Rating:

***3.5 cups***

Would I recommend this book?: Yes.

Goodreads |Amazon

Leave a Reply

