Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

11870085Title: The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green

Series #: 1

Published Date: January 10, 2012

Publisher: Dutton Books

# of Pages: 318

Summary:

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

tumblr_mavebnDspv1r7dslf

Need I say more?!

I was absolutely taken aback by the how hard the feels associated with the plot of this book, had hit me. And man did it hit me hard. I mean, I already knew that The Fault in Our Stars was sad but I didn’t expect it to be so tragic. But then again, the summary did say that the book is on a sensitive topic (cancer) so I guess I was forewarned hehe. In addition to that, my younger sister had been attacked by the same depressing feels brought on by this book, so I really should have seen it coming…

Anyway, what I absolutely loved about this book is that it doesn’t have the expected happy ending that you’d want the characters to have. No. And because that it doesn’t, it makes the story more relateable, more real which adds to the sorrow, the sadness, the despair… THE FEELS!!!! In addition to that, the characters (Hazel and Augustus) aren’t your typical healthy, happy go lucky characters. No. They’re kids fighting cancer, who’s life revolves around death, who are constantly surrounded by death, fighting to live another day. Of all the characters in the book, aside from the main female protagonist, I fell in love with Augustus and Isaac. I love everything about them! From their dialogue to their insight on very adult-ty concepts such as their sicknesses and treatments etc. They absolutely amaze. John Green did an excellent job in the character growth and development department.  Lastly, I enjoyed the numerous plot twists of the book that takes your already jacked up emotions and throws it off of a 100000000ft. cliff.

tumblr_m3s8quWvws1r0adt2

Ok, ok, I’m good, I’m fine… gotta keep the feels under control before any spoilers slip through my fingers… Here are my favorite quotes from the story!

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.”

“That’s the thing about pain,” Augustus said, and then glanced back at me. “It demands to be felt”

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world…but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices.”

“There are infinite numbers between 0 and 1. There’s .1 and .12 and .112 and an infinite collection of others. Of course, there is a bigger infinite set of numbers between 0 and 2, or between 0 and a million. Some infinities are bigger than other infinities. A writer we used to like taught us that. There are days, many of them, when I resent the size of my unbounded set. I want more numbers than I’m likely to get, and God, I want more numbers for Augustus Waters than he got. But, Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

My Rating:

BIC Rating System5

Would I recommend the Book?: YES!!!

Goodreads | Amazon

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

  1. I have only heard of one person who didn’t cry in this book and they were surprised they didn’t. Great review! I still need to read this…Sometimes I think my copy’s glaring at me and telling me to hurry up and read it. I’m a bit nervous it won’t live up to all the hype.

  2. Pingback: Book Haul (3) | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

