Existence

13223520Title: Existence [Kindle Edition]

Author: Abbi Glines

Series #: Book #1 of the Existence Trilogy

Publisher: Wild Child Publishing

Release Date: December 13, 2011

# of Pages: 161

Summary:

What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.

Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

My Thoughts

SPOILER ALERT!!! SPOILER ALERT!!!

I swear I tried my best to say a little as possible about what goes on in the book.

This is the first book that I’ve ever read by Abbi Glines and my, I must say that I’m very impressed. Looking at the overall concept of the book, I can surely say that you won’t find anything like it. I mean, yeah sure there are a lot of supernatural romance novels out there (Girl falls in love with vampire, werewolf, etc.) but you won’t find anything about a girl falling for Death himself. Just the idea of falling in love with death gets me all excited because isn’t it somewhat impossible… forbidden…? Having that idea of not being able to have it (…or him) just makes you want it (…or him) even more. I think that’s the kind of effect that this book had on me. The impossible or forbidden idea of being madly in love with Death himself, increases that desire to want him even more. Plus, the way he was written in the book, like how he treated Pagan, his inner thoughts, his physical description, increases his hotness factor by tenfold!

Overall, I loved this book, however there were a few things that did bother me. The first one was his name, Dank. Dankmar Walker. That certainly is a unique name to me. I was completely turned off when the book had revealed that Death’s name is Dankmar, Dank for short. It grew on me though. Leif was an ok name. Speaking of him, I could only imagine him as that blonde dude from MTV’s Awkward:

images (1) images

Brett Davern.

Doesn’t exactly scream Voodoo Prince, but isn’t that the point? Plussssss he’s adorable. Just like Leif, with the whole Voodoo prince thing aside. But anyway, the second thing that bothered me about the book was how much Pagan moaned and groaned about Dank’s absence towards the end of the book. I know he’s her love and all but dang girl… you try your very best to distract yourself! The major cliff hanger in the end definitely made up for it though.

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I recommend the book?: Yes!

Goodreads |Amazon

4 thoughts on “Existence

  1. Pingback: Wrap- up Week | Books and Iced Coffee

  2. Pingback: Macchiato Monday’s Manly- Male Character of the Week! | Books and Iced Coffee

Leave a Reply

