The Perks of Being A Wallflower

13573503Title: The Perks of Being a Wallflower 

Author: Stephen Chbosky

Series: N/A

Publisher: MTV Books

Release Date: August 14 2012

# of Pages: 213

Summary:

Charlie is a freshman.

And while he’s not the biggest geek in the school, he is by no means popular. Shy, introspective, intelligent beyond his year yet socially awkward, he is a wallflower, caught between trying to live his life and trying to run from it.

Charlie is attempting to navigate his way through uncharted territory: the world of first dates and mix tapes, family dramas and new friends; the world of sex, drugs, and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, when all one requires is that perfect song on that perfect drive to feel infinite. But he can’t stay on the sidelines forever. Standing on the fringes of life offers a unique perspective. But there comes a time to see what it looks like from the dance floor.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a deeply affecting coming-of-age story that will spirit you back to those wild and poignant roller-coaster days known as growing up.

My Thoughts 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower was an interesting coming of age story surrounding the introverted Charlie Scorsoni. Throughout the book Charlie faces major family drama, experiences various socially awkward events with the two of his closest friends, Patrick and his half- sister, Sam. When reading the book, I guess you can see how Charlie can be a relate-able character to most of the books’ high school audience. I think we all can relate to Charlie somehow as we do experience socially awkward circumstances at some point in our lives. But reading the book at this point in my life didn’t have the same effect on me as it did with others. Don’t get me wrong through, it is a really good young adult contemporary fiction piece and it’s movie adaptation certainly did the book justice. I’m glad that I had the opportunity to read this and it certainly was an enjoyable one. It’s a book that I will definitely recommend to my younger, high-school siblings 🙂

My Rating:

BIC Rating System4

Would I recommend this book?: Yes. 

5 thoughts on “The Perks of Being A Wallflower

  1. Hello Elyssa! 🙂
    Thanks for dropping by my blog. I love yours its simple and has your own rating scale. Been trying to get mine but I’m not websavy enough to do so. LOL.

    I subscribed to your feed!

  2. Brilliant review! 🙂 I know what you mean about the age thing, I’ve just read Perks at age 23 and wish I had read it when I was in high school! Just watched the movie and I’d say its even better than the book! 🙂

    • I read the book at age 23 as well. The effect that this book had on high schoolers would’ve happened to me as well if I had read this book then. Unfortunately, I didn’t. Thank you so much for the kind review and for taking the time to check out my blog. I’m trying to get it out there hehe 🙂 I’ll be looking forward to more of your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

